Oy!

Apparently I need even more stretching and rehab on my gams than I thought.  I woke up this morning with that lovely, dull ache from a few good workouts in a row.  Given that I have cross fit on the schedule over the next two nights, well, I think my legs may just hate me by the weekend.  Oh well…either way, I am looking forward to getting back into the proverbial scheme of things and salvage whatever is left of my half marathon training so I can get a somewhat respectable time at my Princess Half in Disney.

I think I might even start working in a few mini stretch breaks into my work day so that my legs don’t hate me with all the added “attention” they will be getting over the next 6 weeks.

On the plus side, it is Wednesday…so the weekend is creeping ever closer.  I already have a lovely weekend project planned…aside from all the other things I have planned for the weekend like a long run (i hope), another chapter of my social experiment, some play time processing last weeks photos on Lightroom, another photo date with my friend..etc.

Well…that project is me finally diving into one of my favourite Christmas presents this year–the Bouchon Bakery Cookbook.  It’s like a coffee table book and cookbook.  It’s massive and gorgeous and every single time I look at it, I have the urge to jump on the first plane to NYC so that I can sample some of Thomas Keller’s delicious treats.

I plan on making croissants…specifically chocolate croissants.  I plan on starting them on Friday night so that they are ready to go for a Sunday morning bake-a-thon.   This will be my second attempt at making croissants.  I made them once, almost a year ago to the day, ironically…but I made a few key mistakes that essentially ruined their flakiness and their ability to rise (apparently you shouldn’t put them near a really warm oven because it melts out all the butter in the recipe–such a mind fart on that one).  Still, they were delicious, so I have massive faith that these croissants, with their Bouchon touches (I used a recipe from How Sweet It Is and it was ok, but not clear on a few key steps, which made baking said croissants quite frustrating at times, though overall, I still think it is a great recipe as they tasted delish).

So…I’m curious…what plans do you have for the weekend ahead?  Big ones? Little ones?  Perhaps nothing at all?  Also, if you are a baker of croissants and have any tips or have already baked using the Bouchon Bakery cookbook and want to highlight specific recipes I should try, let me know in the comments.

Much luv and happy hump day!

Leesah