Sorry…I felt it necessary to quote the Rolling Stones here (it’s the song Shattered, if you are wondering..)

Anyway–i did it.

Check another item off “The List.”

I prepared an entire meal, including treats, for my family–30 people.  Everyone was filled with praise and went for second and third helpings–even my vegetarian cousins who don’t normally eat much had two heaping plates.  Aside from feeling overwhelmingly frazzled by the event and the three days in the kitchen prior to the big meal, I was brimming with pride.

The menu was a pretty varied one and it consisted of the following:

  • turkey and stuffing (and gravy–but that isn’t a dish, is it?)
  • prime rib roast
  • roasted asparagus with Parmesan curls
  • glazed carrots
  • cabbage rolls (veggie- w/carrot, zucchini, garlic and rice filling and non veggie-ground pork and rice)
  • perogies (cheddar cheese and potato with sour cream, bacon and fried onions options for garnish)
  • meatballs and gravy
  • roasted garlic mashed potatoes
  • roasted garlic and asiago cheese mashed potatoes
  • sliced kolbasa
  • ham
  • spinach salad
  • curried bean salad with raisins (which nobody ate–i think they were afraid)
  • little bread buns and  butter

So that was the dinner.  We also had some veggie plates, chips and dip, boxed chocolates and a cheese plate out for appetizers/munchies.  For sweets, or as we call it in Manitoba, “dainties” i made some of my favourite things–butter tarts, s’mores cookies, chocolate chocolate chip cookies with mars bar slices, iced sugar cookies, chocolate cupcakes with swiss meringue butter cream (was my christmas eve pic) and then finished it all off with some store bought Nanaimo bars.

It all went well, but when you are the only one cooking and serving, it is a frazzling experience.  This is where I wished I had a sister or someone who knew something about cooking (and knew their way around my kitchen,) could help.  I also learned that people appear to love asparagus and are deathly afraid of anything different looking (cue the bean salad).  I also learned that making pretty cupcakes for an after holiday dinner treat is not the best plan as they are not something most people want to eat because they are full or are intimidated by their prettiness.

I also learned that I need a bigger kitchen and to figure out the way all of my other relatives are able to get all their dishes hot/warm and on the table at the same time.

One other thing I would like to learn, after this crazy experience, is how to cook a meal like this, and still get to socialize with my family.  I got to chat with some of them, but, truly, for the most part, i just ran around my kitchen, dining room and our living room and rec room serving people and ensuring there were enough sweets on the platters and that the food was plentiful.  I want to be able to do this in an effortless manner, not look like I am ready to collapse at any moment. lol.

Anyway, I am going to go and try my hand at some turkey chili so the leftovers won’t go to waste.  I hope you all had a very, merry Christmas!

Cheers,

Leesah

 

