Do you remember being asked what you wanted to be when you grew up?  I do…mostly because it is a big joke in my family.

Why is that, you ask?  Well, when I was about 5 years old, I wanted to be a waitress at Chi-Chis (the long since bankrupt Mexican chain restaurant) because I wanted to wear their twirly skirts. 

Fortunately, as I got older my career aspirations changed.  I initially wanted to be a doctor, but a rough first year in university made me re-think that plan.  In retrospect, I wish I had taken a year off rather than completely changed direction, but what’s done is done and I don’t have the patience or the drive to do medical school at this age.

I have both an undergraduate and a graduate degree.  Pretty standard, but I am very proud of them both.  I have worked for non profits, all three levels of government and super briefly in private industry…but not long enough to decide whether or not it was my thing–especially since I was so young at the time.

In the last few years, I have developed some skill and desire to cook/bake….more specifically on the baking front than anything else.  I have actually had people offer me $$ for treats, including my hair stylist.  The offer has always been tempting but I would either just say an outright no or I would just make them the stuff and tell them to take me out for coffee or lunch one day and we’d be even.

Today I walked into a bakery that was, well, what I would dream a bakery would look like if I was to own it.  It actually took my breath away and, what is weirder is that I felt completely at home and like I should run behind the counter, strap on an apron and start helping out.   The weird juxtaposition of being calm and yet a racing, excited heart was, well, weird. 

It freaked me out in a number of ways because, well, I don’t think owning a bakery would be that fun…well, let me rephrase…it would be fun if you weren’t getting up before dawn to bake the cupcakes/breads/croissants, etc.  I also don’t know, and truthfully, don’t think, one would make that much money in a bakery…especially with all the blood, sweat and tears that go into the owning and operating of such a business. 

On top of all that, I do not have the professional designations or skills to make the things that a bakery needs to make and, well, for me, baking is a stress release and something I do for people on my own terms or for special occaisions…not when people demand stuff (unless, of course, it is my dad who is demanding).  Those “projects” for lack of a better word, always end up to be stressful and not in the least bit enjoyable.

So, I guess for now, until something else changes rather drastically (hello lottery win), owning a bakery of my own will always be a fantasy/dream career of mine.  Something that, in my imagination, sounds wonderful, but would clearly not meet those expectations in real life.  Instead, I will make the odd pilgrimage to this beautiful bakery and imagine the fantasy as I snack on a surprisingly delicious red velvet cupcake (as I usually despise red velvet).

Much Luv,

Leesah

