Despite all of my newfound gratitude over the last 13 or so weeks and efforts for self-improvement, shifting to positive thoughts, behaviours, habits, etc…there are times where you just feel like…

WTF?!

I’m having one of those weeks…and it started in Saskatoon last week and it keeps lingering and it’s slowly driving me mad. The worst part is I so desperately want to vent but I’m trying to be positive and let things go and stay in the past as regurgitating negativity doesn’t benefit anyone….but seriously…I’m ready to pull out my hair….especially if it is just a bad “week”–it means there are still a few more days…gah!

So in lieu of this vent session and a perhaps feeble attempt to leave things in the past, I am going to share with you the two new recipes I tried yesterday that not only worked, but worked gloriously and were the highlights of an otherwise crappy day.

Recipe #1:

Pecan Crusted Chicken (can’t find the source, but it was from a Paleo Blog)

4 chicken breasts (though I used thighs and adjusted cook time accordingly)

1/2 cup organic spicy mustard (I used a super grainy Dijon I had on hand)

2 tbsp raw organic honey (I might have used a smidge more…lol)

1 cup of pecans, finely chopped

Pinch of sea salt.

Pre-heat the oven to 350F. In a medium sized mixing bowl, blend together the mustard and honey. Toss the pecans in a food processor (or spend 15 minutes chopping them with a bit of girl power) and pulse/chop until finely chopped. Pour those chopped pecans on a plate or pie plate.

Using a paper towel, remove any excess moisture from the chicken and then dip the “dried” chicken breasts into the honey mustard mixture, and coat on both sides. Next you can either toss that piece of chicken into a greased glass baking dish and then sprinkle on some of those chopped pecans or you can transfer the chicken to the pecan mixture and coat both sides like you would bread a chicken finger. I did the former, but the original recipe recommends the latter.

Once all the breasts are coated with the honey mustard and chopped pecans, pop them onto that glass dish and into the oven for about 45 minutes (around 25-30 for chicken tights) or until the juices run clear.

Enjoy!

The next recipe is from a blog I love called Bake or Break. And…without further ado…here is the deliciousness…oh and one last thing–whomever invented brown butter please let me know–I would like to give you a big ol’ kiss. The smell and flavour it imparts makes me want to remake all of my favourite recipes with a brown butter version. 🙂

Nothing better than cookies and milk

Browned Butter Salted Chocolate Chip Cookies

Prep Time: 25 minutes

Cook Time: 12 minutes

Yield: about 48 cookies (that is according to the blog–I got about 3 dozen…so a bit less…though I did eat some of the dough…omg…my mouth is watering). 🙂

Ingredients
  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 2 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt, plus more for tops of cookies if desired
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 & 1/2 cups chopped chocolate or chocolate chips

Instructions

Place butter in medium saucepan. Heat over medium heat, stirring frequently. Once butter melts and begins to foam, continue to cook until brown specks start to form on the bottom of the pan. Butter will have a nutty aroma. Remove from heat and transfer to a glass bowl to cool to room temperature.

Pre-heat oven to 350°. Line baking pans with parchment paper or silicone liners.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

Using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat butter, brown sugar, and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Mix in vanilla.

Gradually add flour mixture, mixing until almost combined. Stir in chocolate.

Drop dough by tablespoonfuls onto prepared pans. If desired, lightly sprinkle the top of each cookie with a little coarse salt.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until lightly browned. Cool on pans for 5-7 minutes. Then, transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

Hope you all enjoy these two great recipes…and remember…when the going gets tough…the tough get cooking (or baking…yeah…def. baking in my case). lol.

Much Luv,

Leesah

 

