Happy New Year y’all!

I can’t believe that it is over.  It feels like yesterday I was gladly kissing 2011 good bye…but I digress.  This post is not a “my how quickly time flies,” post.  Rather, it is one about the idea of resolutions.

I have mixed opinions on the idea of resolutions.  While I love the idea of having a fresh start and trying to make positive changes in one’s life, I also hate the pressure involved and the opportunity to feel like a failure if you don’t lose those 10 lbs or make your bed every day.  And, yes, I have had those two things as resolutions…neither resolution was a success in the years I made them.

Maybe it is because there is an all or nothing attitude with resolutions that turns many people, including myself, off from them.  I know that I have been victim of that myself on many occasions–especially with weight loss, in the past…despite knowing better instinctively–which is stupid.

Maybe the resolutions being made are far too large to really adopt overnight?  For instance, if your resolution is ‘get organized,’ don’t expect a miracle organizational plan to magically develop itself overnight and wake up January 1, with said habits and perfectly labeled Rubbermaid containers.  It’s all about the small improvements (remember that how SMART acronym for goal setting–Specific; Measurable; Attainable; Realistic and Time sensitive), you can make and adopt as habit over time that makes for successful resolutions.

Given the 50-50 split on success of one’s resolutions, perhaps it is best to begin and end with the idea of just being kinder to yourself.  If you can do that, regardless of losing 10 lbs, becoming a Martha Stewart-esque organizer or getting all Suze Orman with your finances, you are way, way, way ahead of a number of people for 2013.

Now that you know what I don’t like about resolutions, I can tell you what I do like doing for every year.  Some people may say it is the same thing, but I don’t see it as that.  When I started this blog, I made “the List.”  It encompassed the 31 things I wanted to learn when in my 31st year.  Perhaps that was too many as I hadn’t accomplished them all.  But, truthfully, I think the idea of learning goals for a year is a great way to fill the resolution void in a more productive and less emotionally detrimental way.  Learning is all about improving and not an all or nothing  approach.

Without further ado, here are the things that I want to learn this year:

1. I want to learn to use my DSLR, the photo editing software called Lightroom, and become a better photographer

2. I want to learn to make chocolate croissants

3. I want to learn about different career options in the hope that it will help me figure out my own career path

4. I want to learn how I approaching strangers and making interesting small talk with ease.

5. I want to learn some motivational tools to help me adopt a more consistent approach to fitness so that I can check off a few items on my fitness bucket list, like another full marathon, a sub 1:50 half marathon and a triathlon.

So…what are you resolving to do this year?  Are you pro resolutions?  Why?  Do you like my learning goal approach?  I wanna know your thoughts?

Much luv and all the best to everyone in 2013!

Leesah

 

 

 

 

