Hello Lovelies!

I am on the cusp of a long weekend–the holiday–Canada Day aka Canada’s Birthday–July 1. Happy birthday Canada!  Luv you!

Based on that, I am going to list the top 5 things I love about Canada…..

1. Free healthcare.  It’s a wonderful thing to know that you don’t have to choose between paying pills or getting treatment.  The man who made it happen in Canada, Tommy Douglas, was voted Greatest Canadian in history in 2004 and I think most people would still agree with that today.

Terry Fox statue, across from Canadian Parliament

Terry Fox statue, across from Canadian Parliament

2. Terry Fox.  This guy is a true hero–Canadian or otherwise–I firmly believe Lance Armstrong needs to learn a thing or two from this great man’s story.  He has a statue that I always make a point of running by while I am in Ottawa.  Essentially Terry Fox (born in Winnipeg, WOO!), was an average Canadian kid, university athlete turned humanitarian and cancer research activist.   In 1980, with one leg having been amputated as a result of cancer, he embarked on a cross-Canada run to raise money and awareness for cancer research. Although the spread of his cancer eventually forced him to end his quest after 143 days and 5,373 kilometres (3,339 mi), and ultimately cost him his life, his efforts resulted in a lasting, worldwide legacy. The annual Terry Fox Run, first held in 1981, has grown to involve millions of participants in over 60 countries and is now the world’s largest one-day fundraiser for cancer research; over C$500 million has been raised in his name.

3. Canadian potato specialties–namely Ketchup Chips and Poutine.  Both will cause obesity and other health problems, when eaten in large doses, but it might just be worth it because they are delicious.  Stick with the Old Dutch brand for Ketchup chips (but watch out–they stain your hands).  The taste is sorta like an intense ketchup that is slightly acidic. So. Flipping. Good.  As for poutine, most people thing it sounds gross–french fries, gravy and cheese curds, but it is HEAVEN….especially when the cheese is all melty.  Give this a try–I’ve had them in Hawaii and Melbourne, Australia, so word is spreading regarding this delicious treat.

4.   The Tragically Hip–my favourite Canadian band of all time.  I highly recommend you check them out.  They are fun to watch and are very creative songwriters.  I think I have seen them over 20 times in concert.  Their lead singer, Gord Downie, is simply a marvel to watch.

5. Simply put–it’s home. Canada is the only home I have ever known and I’m thankful to live in such a great place.

Happy Friday and Happy (early) Birthday Canada!

Luv Leesah

